As with all fruits and vegetables, wash avocados before cutting. Check out our tips for how to choose and use California Avocados
Are Avocados Gluten Free?
Yes. As a whole fresh fruit, California Avocados are a gluten-free alternative for ingredients containing gluten. According to the Mayo Clinic, those who follow gluten-free diets may have low levels of certain vitamins and nutrients including fiber, folate and riboflavin – found in naturally gluten-free California Avocados (8%, 6% and 4% of the daily value, respectively, per 1/5 medium avocado).
Why Do People Follow a Gluten-Free Diet?
According to the National Institutes of Health (NIH), an estimated 1 out of every 133 Americans suffer from celiac disease, an immune disorder passed down through families. When an individual with celiac disease consumes gluten, the immune system responds by damaging the lining of the intestinal tract, which decreases the body’s ability to absorb nutrients. There is no cure for celiac disease, however, the NIH advises that individuals can eliminate symptoms and restore their intestinal lining by following a lifelong gluten-free diet. Gluten, a protein found in wheat, barley and rye, may also be found in oats and various medications, so the NIH encourages individuals with celiac disease to closely examine food and medication labels carefully to ensure there are no hidden sources of these grains and ingredients related to them. Fortunately, a balanced diet that includes fruits, vegetables, and gluten-free whole grains can be healthy, delicious and satisfying.
Gluten-free Avocado Recipes and Tips
Here are some ways to incorporate California Avocados into gluten-free recipes, meals and snacks:
- Check ingredient lists on cottage cheese, cream cheese and all pasteurized, processed cheese as some cheeses contain ingredients that may not be gluten-free. If you are unsure whether or not a cheese product contains gluten, California Avocados are gluten-free and are a great substitution in recipes like salads, tacos and burritos, where you would ordinarily use cheese
- Use mashed California Avocado in place of dips and dip mixes that can contain gluten. Sprinkle with lemon juice or balsamic vinegar and salt and pepper
- Seasoned snack chips often contain gluten, so instead dip gluten-free, traditional, plain corn tortilla chips into gluten-free salsa mixed with diced California Avocado for a zippy snack
- Some store-bought salad dressings contain gluten, but it’s easy to make your own using Fresh California Avocados. Try this gluten-free Creamy Avocado Dressing recipe, which would be the perfect complement to your favorite salad or a tasty topper for roasted vegetables or grilled meat, poultry or fish
For more kitchen inspiration, check out these flavorful gluten-free recipes with California Avocados: